joanna-kosinska-483605-unsplash.jpg
 

KATIE KHAN

 

I write books about light and space.

 

holdbackthestars_transparent.png

HOLD BACK
THE STARS

'The new One Day' — Stylist
'The most unique love story I've read in years' — Rowan Coleman, author of The Summer of Impossible Things
'Gravity meets The Versions of Us' — Red

thelightbetweenus_cover.png

THE LIGHT
BETWEEN US

'A bold new talent' — Matt Haig, author of How to Stop Time
'Katie Khan's tale of time travel and friendship takes you on a "will they, won't they" journey with an ending you'll never predict...' — Grazia

Spectrum2.png

THE LIGHT BETWEEN US

 

'Pay close attention: this is a will they, won't they tale with a jaw-dropping twist at its heart' — Express

'Sure to have you weeping' — Grazia

'Gripping, fascinating, funny, romantic, exciting, and hopeful with a great cast of women, The Light Between Us
is a cracking good read' — Rowan Coleman, bestselling author of The Summer of Impossible Things

 'This is a love story, but with a great twist that takes it beyond a classic "will they, won’t they?"' — Stylist

 'A remarkable reading experience  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★' — Heat

'After her intriguing debut, Hold Back The Stars, Katie Khan is back with another sci-fi romance,
which will even appeal to readers who don’t normally do the sci-fi thing' — Red

'A bold new talent' — Matt Haig, bestselling author of How to Stop Time

 
TheLightBetweenUs_KatieKhan.png


Thea and Isaac first met at university. Theirs was an instant connection but it never went further than friendship.

Because, then and now, Thea only has eyes for her work. Not just her course, but also a private project - Thea is determined to prove that time travel is not just the stuff of science fiction. And she has never told anyone the reason why.

When one of their friends goes missing in an experiment, Isaac and Thea must work together to find her - forcing them to re-examine their own friendship.

Is it really as platonic as they used to think?

The Light Between Us is a story of unrequited love and second chances. It begs the dangerous question that we all ask ourselves - what could have been?

 

Katie Khan's writing...
'Will give you all the feels' Heat
'Breaks your heart then kicks it again for good measure in the most beautiful way possible' The Pool
'Will stay with you long after reading' Image

OWN THE U.K. HARDBACK

Available now
Published by Transworld on Aug 9th, 2018
(Penguin Random House)

 
 
 
 
1.jpg

HOLD BACK
THE STARS

'The new One Day' — Stylist
'The most unique love story I've read in years' — Rowan Coleman
'Gravity meets The Versions of Us' — Red
'A bold new talent' — Matt Haig

 
HoldBackTheStars_Paperback_Cover.jpg


Ninety minutes.

A few years from now,
not too far in the future, two people meet.
It is a classic story of boy meets girl. 
Except that it's not.
When we find them, they have an hour and a half left.
Unless they can save themselves, they won't survive.

The clock is ticking.

Bittersweet and life-affirming,
Hold Back the Stars is the love story of the year.

 

'An edge-of-your-seat tale' — Vogue
'An incredibly imaginative debut' 
Sunday Mirror
'Prepare to shed tears' — Heat
'Original, surprising and romantic' 
Woman & Home

 

 
Max_HoldBacktheStars

OWN THE U.K. PAPERBACK

Available now
Published by Transworld on Nov 30th, 2018
(Penguin Random House)

 

OWN THE U.S. PAPERBACK

Available now
Published by Gallery on Feb 18th, 2018
(Simon & Schuster)

 
 
Carys_HoldBacktheStars.png
 

 

HARDBACKS

Also available

 
HoldBacktheStars_3D_book.png

U.K. HARDBACK

Published by Transworld (Penguin Random House)
Jan 26th, 2017

HoldBacktheStars_US_cover

U.S. HARDBACK

Published by Gallery (Simon & Schuster)
May 30th, 2017

 
BlackMarble2.jpg

TRANSLATIONS

Hold Back the Stars is being translated into more than twenty languages around the world.


Head to the INTERNATIONAL EDITIONS page for details including foreign publishers,
international cover designs and publication dates.

 
 
 
warren-wong-263024.jpg

PRESS REVIEWS

The new One Day
— Stylist
An edge-of-your-seat tale
— British Vogue
A tense survival story with an unexpected ending ★★★★
— The Sun
As thought provoking as it is wrenching, prepare to shed tears ★★★★
— Heat
Think Gravity meets The Versions of Us
— Red
Original, surprising and romantic
— Woman & Home
The ticking clock of the novel will have you tearing through it as quickly as you can, all the while getting caught up in the couple’s beautiful love story
— Hello!
An incredibly imaginative debut
— Sunday Mirror
Breaks your heart, then kicks it a few more times for good measure in the most beautiful way possible
— The Pool
Intriguing and moving, it’s a love story that’s out of this world ★★★★
— Sunday Express
This is a stirring, unique and beautifully crafted story on the complexities of first love that will stay with you long after reading. This is going to be huge
— Image
A space romance with a political edge
— Irish Times
A unique take on the usual dystopian fiction . . . a worthy read which will keep you up past bed time ★★★★
— Sci-Fi Now
Just the ticket if you’re looking to get lost in a breathless love story
— Grazia

BOOK TRAILER(S)

CRITICAL ACCLAIM

Nice things some brilliant authors have said about HOLD BACK THE STARS...

Hold Back the Stars is a rare combination of thrilling action, deep emotional depth and intelligent ideas. The most unique love story I’ve read in years.
— Rowan Coleman, bestselling author of THE MEMORY BOOK
Dazzling . . . a truly stellar debut, full of wonder and heart. I’m sure it’s going to be a mega hit.
— Emma Jane Unsworth, author of ANIMALS
Terrific . . . a beautiful story.
— Samantha Shannon, bestselling author of THE BONE SEASON
Playfully serious, imaginatively assured, Hold Back the Stars packs real emotional punch.
— Laline Paull, bestselling author of the Baileys Prize nominated THE BEES
Gorgeous, brilliant, heartbreaking . . . A love story to remember.
— Debbie Howells, bestselling author of THE BONES OF YOU
What a shiny jewel of a read! Such heart, such brilliance, such exquisite observation. I envy those who are yet to discover this bold and captivating delight.
— Caroline Smailes, author of THE DROWNING OF ARTHUR BRAXTON
A high-stakes, high-concept love story from a bold new talent . . . All of the obvious ‘out of this world’ comments apply.
— Matt Haig, bestselling author of HOW TO STOP TIME
Bittersweet and beautiful. An intricate and heart-breaking vision of the future.
— Lauren James, YA author of THE NEXT TOGETHER
Beautifully, frustratingly, heart-breaking.
— Maggie Harcourt, YA author of UNCONVENTIONAL
A beautiful, moving, truly original tale. I loved this book for taking me by surprise.
— Renee Knight, bestselling author of DISCLAIMER
A tense, crisp, edge-of-your-seat love story and a completely unexpected ending, I was gripped from the first line to the last. Hold Back The Stars is out of this world. I loved it.
— Anna McPartlin, author of THE LAST DAYS OF RABBIT HAYES
This story is gorgeousness in book form.
— Miranda Dickinson, bestselling author of FAIRYTALE OF NEW YORK

And nice things authors have said (so far) about THE LIGHT BETWEEN US...

“Gripping, fascinating, funny, romantic, exciting, and hopeful with a great cast of women, The Light Between Us is a cracking good read.”
— Rowan Coleman, bestselling author of The Summer of Impossible Things
“Full of friendship, romance and hope, The Light Between Us asks what truly defines who we are... and who we love.”
— Maggie Harcourt, author of The Last Summer of Us
“An intriguing and wonderfully told story full of brilliant women, friendship, love, art and time travel. Perfect for fans of The Time Traveller’s Wife and Sliding Doors.”
— Lydia Ruffles, author of The Taste of Blue Light
jake-hills-36605.jpg

audioBOOK

Read by Games of Thrones actress Gemma Whelan.

Available on Audible and all good audio sites.

Listen to an extract below.

john-silliman-165707.jpg

about katie

 

 

Katie Khan is a writer from London whose first novel, HOLD BACK THE STARS, is published in twenty-four countries internationally and translated into twenty-one languages. HOLD BACK THE STARS is being adapted into a film by producers Dan Cohen and Shawn Levy (Arrival/Stranger Things), directed by Lee Toland Krieger (The Age of Adaline/Riverdale), and exec produced by Good Universe (The Disaster Artist).

HOLD BACK THE STARS was a finalist for the Romantic Novel Awards 2018, and shortlisted for Brave New Words, celebrating originality in genre writing. THE LIGHT BETWEEN US is published in August 2018.

A fan of love stories with epic settings both on the page and on screen, Katie spent 10 years working in online editorial and technology, including 4 years as Head of Digital at Paramount Pictures, before joining Warner Bros. in 2017 to work on a major film production. Named in the 40 Under 40 working in European Cinema at CineEurope 2016, and The Drum's Top 50 most influential people in social media marketing in the UK, Katie was also selected as a Rising Star by The Media Eye.

Katie is represented by literary agent Juliet Mushens, and represented for film rights by Howie Sanders at Anonymous Content.

 
patrick-hendry-217599.jpg

NEWS & Updates

 

INSTAGRAM

TWITTER

BLOG