joanna-kosinska-483605-unsplash.jpg
 

KATIE KHAN

 

I write books about light and space.
And heartbreak—dammit, why do I keep doing that?

 

holdbackthestars_katiekhan

HOLD BACK
THE STARS

'The new One Day' — Stylist
'The most unique love story I've read in years' — Rowan Coleman, author of The Summer of Impossible Things
'Gravity meets The Versions of Us' — Red
'A bold new talent' — Matt Haig, author of How to Stop Time

thelightbetweenus_katiekhan

THE LIGHT
BETWEEN US

'A “will they, won’t they” tale with a jaw-dropping twist
at its heart' — Sunday Express
'Stunning, mesmerising and intricately beautiful. This book is
a diamond' — Carrie Hope Fletcher
'Sure to have you weeping' — Grazia

Spectrum2.png

THE LIGHT BETWEEN US

 

'Pay close attention: this is a “will they, won't they” tale with a jaw-dropping twist at its heart' — Sunday Express

 'A remarkable reading experience  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★' — Heat

'Gripping, fascinating, funny, romantic, exciting, and hopeful' — Rowan Coleman, bestselling author of The Summer of Impossible Things

'A bold new talent' — Matt Haig, bestselling author of How to Stop Time

 
thelightbetweenus_paperback_katiekhan



Thea and Isaac have always been friends, despite his constant jokes, despite her stubborn belief in time travel . . . despite the distance between them.

But when Isaac returns home from New York with their friend goes missing, suddenly things aren’t as they were. Something is different.

Thea and Isaac have always been friends. But maybe that wasn’t how it was supposed to be.

‘Sure to have you weeping’ — Grazia

‘Stunning, mesmerising and intricately beautiful. This book is a diamond.’ — bestselling author and actress
Carrie Hope Fletcher

‘A love story with a great twist’ — Stylist

 

OWN THE U.K. PAPERBACK

Published by Transworld on November 29th, 2018
(Penguin Random House)

 
 
 
 

Free worldwide shipping from Book Depository:

 
 
 
thelightbetweenus_katiekhan_paperback_ebook.png
 
1.jpg

HOLD BACK
THE STARS

'The new One Day' — Stylist
'The most unique love story I've read in years' — Rowan Coleman
'Gravity meets The Versions of Us' — Red
'A bold new talent' — Matt Haig

 
holdbackthestars_paperback_cover_katiekhan


Ninety minutes.

A few years from now,
not too far in the future, two people meet.
It is a classic story of boy meets girl. 
Except that it's not.
When we find them, they have an hour and a half left.
Unless they can save themselves, they won't survive.

The clock is ticking.

Bittersweet and life-affirming,
Hold Back the Stars is the love story of the year.

 

'An edge-of-your-seat tale' — Vogue
'An incredibly imaginative debut' 
Sunday Mirror
'Prepare to shed tears' — Heat
'Original, surprising and romantic' 
Woman & Home

 

 
Max_HoldBacktheStars

OWN THE U.K. PAPERBACK

Available now
Published by Transworld on Nov 30th, 2017
(Penguin Random House)

holdbackthestars_novel_katiekhan_ebook_audiobook.png

OWN THE U.S. PAPERBACK

Available now
Published by Gallery on Feb 18th, 2018
(Simon & Schuster)

 
 

Free worldwide shipping from Book Depository:

 
 
Carys_HoldBacktheStars.png
 

 

HARDBACKS

Also available

 
holdbackthestars_UK_hardback.png

U.K. HARDBACK

Published by Transworld (Penguin Random House)
Jan 26th, 2017

1541602746.png

U.K.
HARDBACK

Published by Transworld (Penguin Random House)
Aug 9th, 2018

holdbackthestars_US_hardback_cover.png

U.S. HARDBACK

Published by Gallery (Simon & Schuster)
May 30th, 2017

 
BlackMarble2.jpg

TRANSLATIONS

Hold Back the Stars is being translated into more than twenty languages around the world.


Head to the INTERNATIONAL EDITIONS page for details including foreign publishers,
international cover designs and publication dates.

 
 
 

BOOK TRAILER(S)

warren-wong-263024.jpg

HOLD BACK THE STARS REVIEWS

The new One Day
— Stylist
An edge-of-your-seat tale
— British Vogue
A tense survival story with an unexpected ending ★★★★
— The Sun
As thought provoking as it is wrenching, prepare to shed tears ★★★★
— Heat
Think Gravity meets The Versions of Us
— Red
Original, surprising and romantic
— Woman & Home
The ticking clock of the novel will have you tearing through it as quickly as you can, all the while getting caught up in the couple’s beautiful love story
— Hello!
An incredibly imaginative debut
— Sunday Mirror
Breaks your heart, then kicks it a few more times for good measure in the most beautiful way possible
— The Pool
A suspenseful novel about a young couple fighting for survival in the world of the future... Readers who love doomed young lovers will find a pair of them here
— Kirkus Reviews
Intriguing and moving, it’s a love story that’s out of this world ★★★★
— Sunday Express
This is a stirring, unique and beautifully crafted story on the complexities of first love that will stay with you long after reading. This is going to be huge
— Image
A space romance with a political edge
— Irish Times
A unique take on the usual dystopian fiction . . . a worthy read which will keep you up past bed time ★★★★
— Sci-Fi Now
Taking ‘star-crossed’ to a new level... [and] cinematically styled... Hold Back the Stars is a tale of first love that will appeal to fans of David Nicholls’s One Day and of Jojo Moyes’s romances
— BookList
Just the ticket if you’re looking to get lost in a breathless love story
— Grazia

ACCLAIM

Nice things some brilliant authors have said about HOLD BACK THE STARS...

Hold Back the Stars is a rare combination of thrilling action, deep emotional depth and intelligent ideas. The most unique love story I’ve read in years.
— Rowan Coleman, bestselling author of THE MEMORY BOOK
Dazzling . . . a truly stellar debut, full of wonder and heart. I’m sure it’s going to be a mega hit.
— Emma Jane Unsworth, author of ANIMALS
Terrific . . . a beautiful story.
— Samantha Shannon, bestselling author of THE BONE SEASON
Playfully serious, imaginatively assured, Hold Back the Stars packs real emotional punch.
— Laline Paull, bestselling author of the Baileys Prize nominated THE BEES
Gorgeous, brilliant, heartbreaking . . . A love story to remember.
— Debbie Howells, bestselling author of THE BONES OF YOU
What a shiny jewel of a read! Such heart, such brilliance, such exquisite observation. I envy those who are yet to discover this bold and captivating delight.
— Caroline Smailes, author of THE DROWNING OF ARTHUR BRAXTON
A high-stakes, high-concept love story from a bold new talent . . . All of the obvious ‘out of this world’ comments apply.
— Matt Haig, bestselling author of HOW TO STOP TIME
Bittersweet and beautiful. An intricate and heart-breaking vision of the future.
— Lauren James, YA author of THE NEXT TOGETHER
Beautifully, frustratingly, heart-breaking.
— Maggie Harcourt, YA author of UNCONVENTIONAL
A beautiful, moving, truly original tale. I loved this book for taking me by surprise.
— Renee Knight, bestselling author of DISCLAIMER
A tense, crisp, edge-of-your-seat love story and a completely unexpected ending, I was gripped from the first line to the last. Hold Back The Stars is out of this world. I loved it.
— Anna McPartlin, author of THE LAST DAYS OF RABBIT HAYES
This story is gorgeousness in book form.
— Miranda Dickinson, bestselling author of FAIRYTALE OF NEW YORK
 

And nice things some brilliant authors have said about THE LIGHT BETWEEN US...

A book that feels both intimate and vast . . . It weaves sci-fi, mystery and romance into a vivid and enthralling tapestry.
— Gavin Extence, bestselling author of THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS
“Full of friendship, romance and hope, The Light Between Us asks what truly defines who we are... and who we love.”
— Maggie Harcourt, author of THE LAST SUMMER OF US
Stunning, mesmerising and intricately beautiful. This book is a diamond.
— Carrie Hope Fletcher, bestselling author and actress
“An intriguing and wonderfully told story full of brilliant women, friendship, love, art and time travel. Perfect for fans of The Time Traveller’s Wife and Sliding Doors.”
— Lydia Ruffles, author of THE TASTE OF BLUE LIGHT
“Gripping, fascinating, funny, romantic, exciting, and hopeful with a great cast of women, The Light Between Us is a cracking good read.”
— Rowan Coleman, bestselling author of THE SUMMER OF IMPOSSIBLE THINGS
Brave, original and more than a little heart breaking.
— Fiona Harper, author of THE OTHER US
jake-hills-36605.jpg

audioBOOK

Read by Games of Thrones actress Gemma Whelan.

Available on Audible and all good audio sites.

Listen to an extract below.

patrick-hendry-217599.jpg

NEWS & Updates

 

INSTAGRAM

TWITTER

BLOG

john-silliman-165707.jpg

about katie

 

 

Katie Khan is a writer from London whose first novel, HOLD BACK THE STARS, is published in twenty-four countries internationally and translated into twenty-one languages.

HOLD BACK THE STARS is being adapted into a film by producers Dan Cohen and Shawn Levy (Arrival/Stranger Things), starring John Boyega (Star Wars) and Letitia Wright (Black Panther), to be directed by Mike Cahill (I Origins/Another Earth).

HOLD BACK THE STARS was a finalist for the Romantic Novel Awards 2018, and shortlisted for Brave New Words, celebrating originality in genre writing. Katie’s second novel THE LIGHT BETWEEN US is published in 2018, a story about unrequited love and friendship — and time travel.

A fan of love stories with epic settings both on the page and on screen, Katie spent 10 years working in online editorial and technology, including 4 years as Head of Digital at Paramount Pictures, before joining Warner Bros. in 2017 to work on a major film production. Named in the 40 Under 40 working in European Cinema at CineEurope 2016, and The Drum's Top 50 most influential people in social media marketing in the UK, Katie was also selected as a Rising Star by The Media Eye.

Katie is represented by literary agent Juliet Mushens, and represented for film rights by Howie Sanders at Anonymous Content.